NDA News

What disabilities can expedite a Social Security disability claim?

An infographic illustration of a young man receiving treatment for cancer.

Social Security disability claims can take a long time to evaluate. The initial application process can be quite complicated for the average person and are often denied based on technical mistakes. When the initial disability application is denied, the applicant has to undergo a complex appeals process. They often cannot do so without a Social Security disability attorney assisting them along the way. However, there are certain cases where an applicant can expect to have their disability claim evaluation expedited.

The Social Security Administration keeps a list of conditions categorized as Compassionate Allowances. So far, there are 278 conditions on the list. Conditions that allow for Compassionate Allowances are usually very serious disabilities. They include certain cancers, adult brain disorders, some genetic anomalies and rare disorders affecting children. Many of these conditions have a very low life expectancy.

Recent Changes To Compassionate Allowances

In August 2023, Kilolo Kijakazi, Acting Commissioner of Social Security announced 12 new additions to the Compassionate Allowances conditions list. These conditions are:

  • 1p36 Deletion Syndrome
  • Anaplastic Ependymoma
  • Calciphylaxis
  • Cholangiocarcinoma
  • FOXG1 Syndrome
  • Leber Congenital Amaurosis
  • Metastatic Endometrial Adenocarcinoma
  • Paraneoplastic Cerebellar Degeneration
  • Pineoblastoma – Childhood
  • Primary Omental Cancer
  • Sarcomatoid Carcinoma of the Lung – Stages II-IV
  • Trisomy 9

As is typical of the conditions on the Compassionate Allowances list, these are primarily cancers or disorders that cause severe intellectual disabilities and other impairments.

At the time the announcement was made, nearly 900,000 people with severe disabilities had their claims approved by the Social Security Administration through the Compassionate Allowance process. You can access a complete list of Compassionate Allowances conditions here.

How do Social Security disability claims work?

In order to qualify for Social Security disability benefits, you have to meet the Social Security Administration’s definition of disabled. This definition applies to both Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) claims and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) claims.

In the case of Compassionate Allowances, the Social Security Administration uses the same rules for both SSDI and SSI claims.

Typically, the application process involves the evaluation of medical evidence for your disability and your capacity to engage in “substantial gainful activity” (meaning: work that can generate an income). Substantial gainful activity, or SGA, is work that requires substantial physical or mental activity and can generate an income above a certain limit per month. If you are applying for SSI, you may not qualify if you have assets or financial resources above a specific threshold.

However, if you have a condition that qualifies for Compassionate Allowances, your claim may be approved on account of medical confirmation of your condition by itself.

Find Out If You Qualify

If you are unable or no longer able to work due to a disability, you should get
the benefits that you need. Get a free case review today.

Complete our form below or call us at 833-MY-DISABILITY .